Assam: Dipanka Kumar Nath reelected as AASU president, Shankarjyoti Baruah named new general secretary

Sunday, 22 Nov, 8.47 am

All Assam Students' Union (AASU) president Dipanka Kumar Nath has been reelected as the president while Shankarjyoti Baruah has been named as the new general secretary of the students' body.

The new office-bearers of the AASU were named at the 17th convention of the students' body that concluded on Saturday night.

AASU general secretary Lurinjyoti Gogoi resigned from the students' body. Gogoi is likely to join the newly floated political party, Asom Jatiya Parishad (AJP) and contest the upcoming Assembly elections from the Duliajan constituency.

However, AASU chief adviser Samujjal Bhattacharyya will remain associated with the students' body on request.