Posting blitz sets off 'CM-change' buzz in Karnataka

Thursday, 26 Nov, 1.26 am

A flurry of appointments to various statutory boards and corporations continued on Wednesday, giving flight to rumours of Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa's likely exit.

Over the past few days, the administration appointed or nominated 53 people seen as Yediyurappa loyalists as chairpersons, directors and ex-officio members at different boards and corporations.

On Wednesday, 20 people were appointed or nominated, adding to 33 on Tuesday.

Chief ministers usually appoint MLAs to boards and corporations to mollify them. But despite pressure from ministerial aspirants, Yediyurappa picked only three legislators while doling out positions in boards: Duryodhan Aihole (Raibag), S R Vishwanath (Yelahanka) and B C Nagesh (Tiptur).